Skip to content

#WNTU (ACT) thanks to @noodle_bar

March 9, 2010

A little earlier than predicted, here is my post on #WNTU!

Tonight MrMan and I went to Wagamama in the city for dinner as a part of the Wagamama National TweetUp. We had a choice of two mains from the new specials menu to choose from and could also order sides, desserts and drinks.


On our way!!


Atmosphere, drinks, menus


Sides: Yasai Gyoza and Gyoza
Yasai Gyoza was nicer (for me) as it was crispier


Of course, MrMan got his book out (when he couldn’t get onto Twitter)
(I fixed his unused account since getting home so he can access it now, haha)


Waiting for our mains (while MrMan inspects SMinney‘s beer)


My main: Tasmanian Trout Udo (ladies’ choice)
MrMan’s main: Ahiru Yaki Soba (duck)

The duck arrived first and I was able to steal some before my trout arrived. It was  a very plain dish that relied on the noodles and was on slightly complimented by the crispy taste of the duck. It needed another favour added as a base (to heighten the dish) but maybe if you are more in the mood for something plain then this is for you 🙂 My trout was cooked perfectly and my noodles were the right consistency in comparison to the texture of the fish. As I’m going through a fish craving of late, I was delighted to find this on the autumn specials menu!


For dessert we ordered Mango with lime & Coconut Sorbet to share
This was the perfect refreshment after our meals

This was a really fun event held by Wagamama. It was certainly a different experience for MrMan and I to have dinner with people we didn’t know previously and to have fun doing so! Our hostess was super attentive but someone needed to inform her (and us!) what the protocol for the evening was. This was a little poor on the organisational side but hey, free meal so I can’t complain.

If you haven’t yet enjoyed the Wagamama experience I totally recommend it. Long tables shared with lots of other people. You see your meals cooked. Loudness is tolerable (but helps if you have some lip reading ability). And the staff are always happy to help you. The food is a little pricey for us (even without paying for mains we still spent $40 for the two of us – more than we budget for an evening meal at home) but it’s worth it once in a while for a treat.

And hey, if we can get MrMan’s Gaffer to enjoy a meal in Wagamama’s environment, anyone will enjoy it.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 9, 2010 8:59 pm

    🙂 great to meet you!

  2. March 9, 2010 9:53 pm

    nice work on turning around a post of the evening so quickly. Great summation of the food. Nice photos! And of course, lovely to meet you both.

    • March 9, 2010 11:53 pm

      I am a blog addict – I couldn’t wait for a scheduled post to arrive on Friday (it was too much fun to keep the night to myself!)

Leave a Reply

