Skip to content

Mission 101

February 1, 2010

This is something I’ve been meaning to start for a while now. As I have much more free time (to focus on me – me me me) I thought sooner rather than later was the best time to start working on this list. I will endeavour to update my list as I go. I will pop this list onto its own ‘page’ for future reference. I will also edit this into categories (rather than the jumble it is currently).

The Challenge:
Complete 101 preset tasks in a period of 1001 days.

The Criteria:
Tasks must be specific (i.e. no ambiguity in the wording) with a result that is either measurable or clearly defined. Tasks must also be realistic and stretching (i.e. represent some amount of work on your part).

Why 1001 Days?
Many people have created lists in the past – frequently simple challenges such as New Year’s resolutions or a ‘Bucket List’. The key to beating procrastination is to set a deadline that is realistic. 1001 Days (about 2.75 years) is a better period of time than a year, because it allows you several seasons to complete the tasks, which is better for organising and timing some tasks such as overseas trips, study semesters, or outdoor activities.

My Start Date: 31/1/2010
My End Date: 28/10/2012

Key:
Unstarted
Started
Completed

The List:

  1. No chocolate for one calendar month (I’m lookin’ at you, March).
  2. Get a permanent, fulltime job in a field I enjoy.
  3. Write a budget. Stick to it for three months. (0/3) Check budget to actual weekly. (0/12)
  4. Keep a gratitude journal for 365 days.
    Started 01/01/2010
  5. Watch the Medici documentaries I have taped on Foxtel since 02/2009.
    1. Part One
    2. Part Two
    3. Part Three
    4. Part Four
  6. No purchases for one calendar month (obviously excluding groceries and bus tickets).
  7. Instigate Peter Walsh’s clever hanger trick. Review after three months.
    1. Implemented in January 2010. To be reviewed in April 2010.
  8. Get married.
    1. Working on it!
  9. Visit 20 new art galleries.
  10. Read all of the published novels written by Jane Austen (reread those already read).
    1. Sense and Sensibility
    2. Pride and Prejudice
    3. Mansfield Park
    4. Emma
    5. Northanger Abbey
    6. Persuasion
  11. Visit Melbourne.
  12. Visit Western Plains Zoo.
  13. Buy a new mattress for the double bed.
  14. Buy a dining table that is big enough for a family.
  15. Make a will. Get MrMan to make one too.
  16. Invest in a new filing system for recipes. Use it!
  17. Make more home cooked meals.
  18. Host a dinner party which I’ve cooked from scratch.
  19. Sort through everything in the garage. Be ruthless!
  20. Sell MrMan’s motorbike.
  21. Pay Mum and Dad back.
  22. Buy a new car (and give Dad back his one!)
  23. Invest in a digital SLR camera.
  24. Mail a secret to PostSecret.
  25. Make a scrapbook of our 21st birthday.
  26. Make a scrapbook of our wedding celebrations.
  27. Publish a blog post each weekday for three months.
  28. Update photos on external hard drive once a month.
  29. Visit Bee when she is a doctor.
  30. Add a new cat to the family.
    1. Told MrMan he is getting one as his wedding gift.
  31. Purchase an external CD drive for my laptop.
  32. Finish reading all the books from my degree.
  33. Track how much water I drink for one calendar month. Aim for two litres a day. Aim to continue the habit
  34. Tame the garden. Maintain it!
  35. Get my own copy of my citizenship certificate.
  36. Sort out all our linen. Toss/donate what isn’t needed.
  37. Get a pair of prescription sunnies.
  38. Set $1000 aside for emergencies.
  39. Get my own health insurance.
  40. Read Home at Grasmere by Dorothy Wordsworth.
  41. Start planning a family.
  42. Consider and master Marelisa Fábrega’s 75 Skills Every Woman Should Master
  43. Create a database to maintain all of the pictures I have saved on my laptop (not including my own photos).
  44. Do the Harbour Bridge climb (and face my fears!)
  45. Make a hollow book.
  46. Learn the alphabet in sign language (and hopefully a few basic words).
  47. Hardcore clean the car inside and out once a calendar month.
  48. Get a facial.
  49. Get a massage.
  50. Purchase the perfect little black dress.
  51. Rediscover my Christianity (not sure how to do this yet)
  52. Complete 31 Days to Fix Your Finances.
  53. Get a passport.
  54. Buy a piece of original art that I love at least once a year.
  55. Go to Questacon (just because I can).
  56. Get my degree papers framed (and MrMan’s trade papers too).
  57. Get my broken jewellery fixed.
  58. Buy a new bookshelf (preferably as needed) to stop double stacking our books.
  59. Create a personal first aid kit.
  60. Create an emergency kit (in case of emergencies…)
  61. Take part in Earth Hour.
  62. Stash $10 cash for each completed item on this list (to be spent frivolously on completion.) ($0/$1010)
  63. Make a note of all of my unwatched DVDs. Watch them all.
    1. Roman Holiday (30/1/2010)
    2. Sabrina
    3. Bloodline
    4. Paris When it Sizzles
    5. Gone with the Wind
    6. Degrassi High collection
    7. Romeo + Juliet
    8. Bride and Prejudice
    9. The Jetsons collection
    10. Black Books collection
    11. Forsyte Saga collection
    12. Tales from Earthsea
  64. Go wine tasting in the Hunter Valley.
  65. Get home and contents insurance.
  66. Sign up with the NGA again.
  67. Sort out my superannuation – compile it into one account (or whatever…)
  68. Read Anne Frank’s Diary. Actually finish it for once.
  69. Read Jane Eyre. Actually finish it for once.
  70. Sort my stuff in Mum and Dad’s shed. Be ruthless!
  71. Complete a cross stitch sampler to hang in our home.
  72. Purchase a housewifey apron from Etsy.
  73. Get a professional blog layout.
  74. Visit all local cafes. Document.
  75. Take Mum and Dad out for dinner. Pay with own money.
  76. Complete my Audrey Hepburn DVD collection.
    1. My Fair Lady
    2. Funny Face
    3. War and Peace
  77. Complete NaNoWriMo.
  78. Visit Granny and Gaffer in Tasmania.
  79. Visit MumC in Armidale.
  80. Get a new pair of glasses.
  81. Stop the car on Horse Park and take photos of the horses that I like.
  82. Get a professional portrait drawn of the MrMan and I.
  83. Get a professional photo taken of Patch.
  84. Get my photo taken with Santa (because I can).
  85. Wake up (and get up) at 8am for a calendar month.
  86. Purchase and complete a jigsaw puzzle to frame and display in our home.
  87. Pick up my Honours thesis and medical records from ANU.
  88. Invest in a sewing machine.
  89. Endeavour to understand the American schooling system!
  90. Invest in a Polaroid camera.
  91. Suck it up and find out my blood type.
  92. Celebrate Pancake Day at the Pancake Parlour.
  93. Take MrMan to Koko Black (as a surprise – shhhh!)
  94. Get an armchair for the dressing room.
  95. Complete the Spyro game MrMan got me for Xmas 2009.
  96. Set up a cleaning schedule (and stick to it) for keeping the house.
  97. Go to Bateman’s Bay.
  98. Purchase, frame and hang a copy of the Singin’ in the Rain and Breakfast at Tiffany’s film posters.
  99. Visit the Great Barrier Reef.
  100. Join a book club (physical or online – either one is good!)
  101. Attend a concert/play/show in Canberra before it leaves.
5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 3, 2010 7:04 am

    Love it! What a great idea. Can’t wait to see how you go……

  2. February 3, 2010 9:20 pm

    Nice list~~
    Maybe i should make one too..mauhuah
    i can help u take a pic of patch semi-pro-ly…hehhehe

  3. February 4, 2010 9:07 pm

    Good luck with your list. I like #54. Buy a piece of original art that I love at least once a year. Might have to ‘borrow’ that idea.

    p.s. love the banner pic!

  4. February 4, 2010 10:16 pm

    The banner is a cropped image I took at Floriade last year. It was so cool to walk through – no one looking where they were going, just looking up!

Leave a Reply

