Skip to content

Review: Connect Cafe and Bar

January 30, 2010

This week’s Food Fight Friday (on Saturday) is a little late – whoops. The MrMan and I enjoyed lunch today at a new Gungahlin cafe: Connect Cafe and Bar. Located on the Big W side of the Gungahlin Marketplace, this cafe boasts breakfast (until 11am), lunch (11-2.30pm) and dinner (from 6pm). My expectations were far lower than what we experienced – a pleasant surprise for Gungahlin cafes!


Lemon Lime & Bitters || MASSIVE iced coffee


We were seated in a small alcove downstairs.
Decor featured ‘nests’ around the lights and a rainbow of T2 teas…


…and a spotty wall – teehee


MrMan had the Big Brekky
Apparently it was “really good” (I didn’t try any)


I had the Pan Seared Fish with Beer Battered Chips
I was expecting something battered out of a box
This meal FAR exceeded my expectations – succulent fish and crispy chips


The signage above our table was very appropriate
There was certainly a range of clientele
(Not that I saw a ‘family’…)


Of course the MrMan read || I looked pretty and people watched

I definitely recommend Connect Cafe and Bar to Gungahlin locals. Its close proximity to Woolworths and Big W makes it very accessible. Connect is certainly a step up from the Coffee Club if you are looking for a nice coffee/meal out while getting your groceries! My only issue with Connect was that we didn’t get the customary bottle of water with our menus – we had to ask for it towards the end of our meal. But the serving staff were very attentive (even calling my MrMan ‘Sir’!) and willing to give us all the time we needed to choose and enjoy our meals.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

