Skip to content

iLove (my) iPhone: iSsues with ringtones

January 25, 2010

When I first got my iPhone, I was surprised to find that I couldn’t automatically set my own music as a ringtone (not to mention I couldn’t MMS pictures until a later software update). I mean, how was this breaking any copyright rules? I didn’t want a standard iPhone ringtone. I wanted to use my own music on my own phone as my own ringtone.

Aside: iTunes allegedly allows you to download ringtones. However, I do not believe this is so in the Australian store as I have never seen a ringtone on iTunes for download.

A simple Google search for “how to make ringtones for iPhone” uncovers a pile of helpful sites that describe the DIY process of iPhone ringtones. From memory, there are also iPhone apps that explain the process.

But what if you’re lazy like me?
How can you avoid this process?

After much Googling and testing of different sites, I have found my go-to ringtone site: Free Ringtones. This site provides good quality ringtones made from what appear to be the original recordings of songs. This is a strong contrast to other sites that have either poor quality copies or their own versions. Needless to say that I don’t know the legal issues behind using this site but I only ever download ringtones of songs I already own – that, theoretically, I could have made into ringtones myself.


Free Ringtones homepage

How did you react to the lack of iPhone ringtones?
Or do you have a Nokia that ‘just does it’?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 25, 2010 4:46 pm

    Nokia girl 🙂

    • January 25, 2010 7:11 pm

      I miss the simplicity of Nokia’s “Ringtone > MP3 > select the damn song you want to use” 😛

  2. January 26, 2010 1:30 am

    i think..iPhone is best phone for me

    • January 26, 2010 1:36 am

      I think the iPhone is definitely my favourite phone (out of the ones I have used). I love its versatility (especially when a certain cat means I can’t charge my laptop at time!)

Leave a Reply

